International Education Week

This past week was International Education Week, which is essentially a week  to celebrate travel and the exchange of ideas all over the world. I’ve been asked to write a quick blog about what International Education Week means to me. It’s a pretty perfect time to reflect this week. As my the semester as officially ended at UQ and I am leaving my residential college this afternoon, I’m already in a reflective mood.

If I could sum up my international education in one word, it would be “opportunity”.  This exchange has brought me an overwhelming amount of opportunities. From travelling all over the Beautiful countries of Australia and New Zealand, to meeting lots of amazing people, to learning in a completely new environment, I am so grateful to have had this opportunity. The most important thing these experiences have brought me is the opportunity to learn about myself.

I’ve learned that I can leave my friends and family on the other side of the planet, yet never feel too far.  I’ve learned that there are wonderful people all over the world, who I might only get to know for a short time, but are more than worth getting to know even for that small time frame. I’ve learned that I probably will get lost many times along the way, but I will always manage to get to where I need to be.

My international education was more than just a classroom experience.  While I found it very interesting to discover how the legal systems functions in Australia, I really enjoyed meeting my classmates and participating in our social and club events most.

I feel so incredibly lucky to have had this international experience and will cherish the memories and life lessons forever!

As a final note, while the formal education part of my exchange has ended, I now have the opportunity to do a little more traveling before I head back to reality (and Christmas!). I’ve posted a view pictures below, from my most recent little trip to Cairns, North Queensland. I spent lots of time “under the sea” checking out the beautiful ocean life that Australia has to offer. I also did a little overnight trip to the Cape Tribulation Rain Forest. Both locations were amazing!

Enjoy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “International Education Week

  1. Pingback: A Year in Review: Best Student Blog Posts of 2011 | gostudyinaustralia

Leave a Reply

