RIVERFIRE!!!

This post needs no other name than Riverfire! 

When I first found out that I was to be going on exchange to Brisbane, Australia, I immediately started researching the city and area.  I quickly found all these pictures of amazing fireworks displays and was incredibly happy to discover that I would be living here during this fireworks event.  This event is known as Riverfire.  It marks the beginning of a cultural festival here in Brisbane (also known as Brisbane Festival).

The Festival runs for about three weeks, and throughout these weeks there’s various shows, art displays and concerts.  Much these acts are free to the public as well.  So far, my obvious favourite is Riverfire.

Group at Riverfire

This Saturday afternoon, my friends and I headed to downtown Brisbane and found ourselves a perfect spot to watch the fireworks, right in front of the Brisbane River.  The Majority of the fireworks were lit off over the river, with a fair amount also being lit off of several downtown skyscrapers.

It’s funny because my friend and ended up saving seats for our group for over two hours, so by the time the fireworks started we were getting really irritable. However, as soon as the first few were lit off, our moods completely changed and we couldn’t have been happier.

Riverfire with Southbank in the background

You know those moments in life where there’s no where else in the world you rather be, but right where you are? (That’s probably a quote from a song, I’m sorry for being incredibly cheesy). However, I felt so lucky to be sitting by the Brisbane River, on the other side of the planet, surrounded by great friends, and seeing this beautiful fireworks display going off all around me.

Riverfire was beyond my expectations. It was non-stop for over 20 minutes! It rained fireworks from the river! The display was perfectly timed to some of my favourite songs! I completely understand why over 500,000 people travel to the downtown every year to watch the fireworks.

I could go on and on, but I think I made my point. In the meantime, I’ve posted a video of the finale onto Youtube. I’ve also attached the link to it. Hopefully it will give you a better idea of why I’m so crazy for riverfire.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WcQ61GTPco

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

